Adding an electric car charger to a 100 amp panel?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Aircraft Pilot
Hello Folks:

I'm not an electrician. I have been asked to write an article for our condominium corporation newsletter to advise homeowners that they might need to upgrade their home's electrical panel from 100 amps to 200 amps if they purchase an electric car and want to install any form of charger for the car other than something that plugs into a standard 110 volt 15 amp outlet.

It's not my intention to tell homeowners how such an upgrade is done. The purpose of the article is to advise homeowners to investigate, with an electrician of their choice, exactly how much work will need to be done and to determine with their electrician what this will cost before they purchase an electric car.

Our community consists of 70 townhouses in Metro Toronto that were built in 1980. The units have between 1 and 3 bedrooms and vary between 1,500 and 1,900 square feet, including the finished basements. When the units were built, none were equipped with air conditioners, and all were fitted with 100 amp service panels. Since then, every single owner has added an air conditioner.

When I look at my service panel, which is typical of all the other units in our community, I see the following:
  1. All the breaker spaces are occupied, there are no empty spaces left.
  2. There is a 20 amp double breaker for the air conditioner, and two 40 amp double breakers, one for the dryer and one for the stove.
  3. There are three 15 amp double breakers that service kitchen outlets.
  4. The remaining twelve 15 amp breakers service lighting, the fridge, the smoke detector, and other outlets.