Above Ground Pool Bonding

Status
Not open for further replies.

onabudget

Let me start by saying I am not an electrician. I have been schooled by several electricians on most aspects of proper circuitry in residential wiring. I am definitely more capable than the average do-it-yourselfer and pay strict adherence to safety and code.

I have purchased an above ground pool that is being installed in a few days. I have read through 680 and understand the supply requirements and location issues (Ground Fault/twistloc etc).

I am having trouble understanding the proper way to Bond an above ground pool and pump. This appears to be a common place for error and confusion. A close friend who is an electrician has never done any pool related work will be helping me with this install. I want to do this once and right with the safety of my family at hand.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Re: Above Ground Pool Bonding

If you really want a safe installation, get someone who actually knows what he is doing. It seems (based on your post) neither you nor your electrican friend know enough to do this safely.

On top of the safety issues are the very confusing code issues that seemt to surround pool installations. If you install it wrong, the inspector may not approve it. or worse yet, he might not notice something wrong and you only find out about it when something bad happens.

I am a DIYer as well, and feel pretty confident I can take care of a lot of things, but I would hire this kind of thing.

91GTABird

I just did one myself. Depends on your supply source. 110v or 220v? I asked the local PoCo what "They" wanted and went from there. Being a 110v the framing did not need to be grounded. The motor had to be bonded at the panel board with #6 per "local". It has to be GFCI protected.

Get with your local Power Company and ask what they want in addition to the NEC. Here we are still operating off the 02' code. If you want details to how mine was done, reply or PM me.

Brian

pierre