514.8 PVC exception

twroblewski

Occupation
Electrician
I am an electrical inspector in CT and I have a discussion with the design team about a grinder sewer pump. We all agree that it is a Class I Division 1 location. The engineering/design team is trying to tell me that the PVC conduit is allowed 2 feet underground, without concrete encasement, because the 514.8 Exception 2 applies. I disagree, because 514 Scope is clear on what is covered. Just want to see if anyone has anything official (NFPA take on it) that they can share, so I can get back to them and make sure they don't design unsafe facilities.

twroblewski

Occupation
Electrician
Welcome to the Forum

Take a look at 501.10(A)(1) Exception
Yes, that is how I got to the 514.8 exception 2. But it does say in 501.10(A)(1) that the exception applies when " subject to the provisions of 514.8, Exception No. 2, or 515.8(A)." As I see it 514 Scope applies to Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities, and 515 Scope applies to Bulk Storage facilities. The design team wants to use the exceptions in facilities that are neither.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
There are folks here far better versed to address Art 500 situations than I am so we can see what they say but my read is that the reference to 514 addresses the concrete covering only.
" The concrete encasement shall be permitted to be omitted where subject to the provisions of 514.8, Exception No. 2, or 515.8(A)."

twroblewski

Occupation
Electrician
There are folks here far better versed to address Art 500 situations than I am so we can see what they say but my read is that the reference to 514 addresses the concrete covering only.
" The concrete encasement shall be permitted to be omitted where subject to the provisions of 514.8, Exception No. 2, or 515.8(A)."
Thanks, I am almost at the point of sending official inquiry to NFPA for their interpretation.

twroblewski

Occupation
Electrician