210.52(D) A duplex satisfies requirement for two basins? Or Not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sea Nile

Occupation
Electrician
I'm studying Mike Holt's understanding the NEC 2020 edition.

I've heard that a duplex can be used to provide a receptacle for each basin of a bathroom that has two basins. Provided of course that the duplex is within 3 feet of each sink. But thats not how I'm reading the code.

210.52(D) states that a "Receptacle Outlet" must be provided for 'Each' basin.

100 Definition: Receptacle Outlet - An outlet where one or more receptacles are installed.

If I'm understanding the difference between a "receptacle" and a "receptacle outlet", then a duplex would not work.
Even though there are two outlets in a duplex, it's still only a single "receptacle outlet"

To compare how another section uses "Receptacle Outlets" consider the attached graphic. The attached graphic shows a kitchen countertop with receptacle outlets. If a receptacle outlet with a duplex was considered two receptacle outlets, then according to 210.52(C) the lower outet could be used for the counter and the upper outlet would be an "additional" outlet and therefore would be able to be used to cover the wall space to the door. But that's obviously not true.

As far as I can tell, everyone who was using a duplex for two basins have been doing it wrong.

Attachments

• 210.52(A) Graphic.jpg
    210.52(A) Graphic.jpg
    270.1 KB · Views: 25

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Nope, you're overthinking it. A basin requires a receptacle within the 3' distance to its rim.

One receptacle certainly may serve two basins as long as it's within the required distance of each.

The graphic correctly shows that the counter and wall spaces may not share one receptacle.

Single vs duplex has nothing to do with which spaces a receptacle serves; it's not one per space.

tthh

Occupation
Retired Engineer