2020 NEC requirement for outdoor disconnect on 1 or two family dwelling units.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LPS

I'm an electrical instructor at a vo-tech, and I'm about to purchase equipment for the students to practice wiring a service. Since the 2020 NEC requires an outdoor disconnect on every one and two family dwelling I'd like to go ahead and order the most popular equipment for this application. We don't do it in this in my area (North Florida) at this time, so I'm afraid my local supplier may not be the best source of information. Can someone please give me a manufacturer and model number or numbers? It needs to be relatively affordable and represent what the students will see in the field. Photos of nice looking installations would be helpful as well. Thanks

kwired

Electron manager
Can you post wording of this requirement?

My guess most preferred thing will be meter/main type of equipment, if meter is not located on the house then either simple enclosed circuit breaker or fused safety switch will be next common items.

kwired

Electron manager
what is justification for this change? Why just one and two family dwellings? Apparently from link in previous post this doesn't need to be the service disconnecting means, possibly even a switch operating a shunt trip main breaker could work? Where outside is acceptable? Does it have to be on the dwelling a disconnect on another structure that supplies the dwelling acceptable, in particular on a pole or pedestal at/near property line?

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
https://www.eaton.com/us/en-us/compa...rotection.html

“Safety disconnect (formerly the firefighter disconnect)

The 2020 change

Language now exists in Article 230.85 for emergency disconnects on the exterior of one- and two-family dwelling units so that first responders may quickly disconnect power to a structure. Language in Article 445.18 also addresses emergency generator shutdown. The rationale for change