2017 NEC PDF or EBook

Status
Not open for further replies.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
I have used the PDF version of the NEC for many years. Last cycle I got the redline version which was handy for me, as I am an instructor.

What is the Ebook, and what are the advantages of it>

jumper

I am clueless, just use PDFs myself.

NFPA has this, whatever it means:

Enhanced eBooks

NFPA is pleased to announce that many of our most popular documents are now available in an enhanced eBook format. This interactive technology brings our documents to life on iPads, iPhones, Androids, and most Web browsers.*

Enhanced eBooks make it easy to search and scroll through documents, highlight specific content, bookmark pages or sections, and enlarge image views. You can also add private user notes — or make them public to solicit feedback from colleagues and subject matter experts. One enhanced eBook purchase gives you access to that title on up to three devices. You can view your eBook offline on your mobile device using the free Inkling app or access your eBook online through a Web browser. Watch the video below to learn more.

http://www.nfpa.org/ebooks/?p=1

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
It sounds like the eBook format gives you back the ability to highlight and bookmark passages which they removed from the PDF version by locking it.

kwired

Electron manager
I have (and have had since near the release of 2014) the 2014 E book.

It gives you a lot of the functionality that the older CD ROM versions had. All places where another code section is mentioned is a link that you can click on and go to that section. Most instances where a word appears that is defined by NEC is bold faced, and you can click on that word and a pop up bubble gives you the definition. It also has links for pop up bubbles in places where there was a change from 2011 that tell you what was changed.