120 vs 240 1 Phase efficiency

Status
Not open for further replies.

Curtlre

Occupation
Electrician
I have been an electrician for 38 years and am retired now. I am totally second guessing myself and need some input. To me watts are watts weather a load is 120 volts at 10 amps or the load is 240 volt 1 ph at 5 amp you are consuming 1200 watts and the efficiency of the equipment is the same. Seems very simple to me but again I am second guessing myself since a neighbor's pool guy him it's more efficient to run his pool pump and heater at 240. Thanks in advance for your help.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Because voltage drop is only dependent on current. Raise your numbers a bit. Try 60a at 120v vs 30a at 240v.

Insulation is cheaper than conductor. Which would you rather (pay to) wire for?

Curtlre

Occupation
Electrician
Thank you for your reply. Yes I do understand your possible scenario with the conductor size difference. Since our distance is not an issue and either way we would be running #12 AWG so the install material and labor should be the same and efficiency KWH consumption should also be the same at either operating voltage I believe.

LarryFine

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Within the load itself, theoretically, there's no difference; externally, there is. If "efficiency" includes getting as much of power out of the load as you can for the electricity you're paying for, the higher voltage wins hands down.

With an all-other-things-being-equal scenario (which is what a theoretical discussion is) the higher voltage has half the voltage drop, so more of the power consumed is transferred to the load, and less toward heating the wire.

__dan

There's an I x I x R, (I squared x R) power loss for the resistance R of the wire. I is half at double the voltage for single phase.